top of page

The Love Languages of Your Loved Ones

Updated: Jan 24, 2019


"Above all, let your love for one another be intense, because love covers a multitude of sins."

~1 Peter 4:8

I’m going to assume many of you have heard of The 5 Love Languages? Let me recap them for you:

  1. Physical Touch

  2. Acts of Service

  3. Words of Affirmation

  4. Quality Time

  5. Receiving Gifts

There’s an online test you can take to see what your Love Languages are. I highly recommend taking this test, because while it does not fully disclose your precise Love Language, it does provide insight into how you display and accept love from others.

I think we can all agree that different people like different things; we may have similar interests, hobbies, or even careers, but we are all still different people who show love in various ways.

What’s so intriguing to me is that most people strive to understand the way they love, but not the way other people love. We are focused on having ourselves understood and perceived correctly by everyone, yet we do not attempt to understand or perceive others correctly in turn. It’s hypocritical, isn’t it? That we don’t care what we think about others and still expect them to care about us? It’s massively disheartening. And a little messed up too.

I was having a conversation with a friend not too long ago about my Love Languages based on the test I mentioned above. I was telling her some things that others do that annoy me, because they seem to have different Love Languages than me. My friend wisely pointed out that, when we love someone else, we work to appeal to their Love Languages. We do what we can to help them feel loved in the ways they appreciate the most, and in doing so, we are showing how much we love them.

And isn’t that so simple? We talk all the time about how people can show us more love. We talk about what we like and what works best for ourselves. How can we be so self-focused when loving others can be so simple? If we cared enough about other people to see what their Love Languages are, maybe we would show them love more often.

I’m not saying you should ask someone you just met what their Love Languages are or anything. But the people you hold dear and close to your heart deserve the effort from you that love takes. You don’t have to take a test to determine how to best show them love either. You could just ask them what helps them feel loved. Like I said, it’s simple.

If the test mentioned above makes this challenge easier, then I encourage you all to use it. The main point here is that God is calling us to love one another, and we don’t make that goal any easier by being focused on only ourselves. Let’s start taking actions that show our loved ones that we do, in fact, love them. It’s as simple as that.

Your Laughing Sister,


Check out the LOVE quotes page for more inspiration!


Recent Posts

See All



I'm a native Michigander and fierce city gal. Armed with my Bible and favorite pair of jeans, my passion is to help young women and girls connect with God through a courageous and faith-filled life. I also love photography, reading, and archery competitions with

my husband, Thomas.

Extra Extra

bottom of page